If you’ve recently been charged with a gun crime in Pennsylvania, you need an experienced lawyer in your corner who can effectively defend you at every turn. Mudrick & Zucker knows the law, inside and out, and can help build a strong defense on your behalf. Contact us today so we can get started working on your case.
Gun Crime Lawyer | Here to Defend You
Being charged with a gun crime can be a frightening experience, especially when not only your Second Amendment rights, but also your future, are at stake. Fortunately, if you’re facing gun charges of any kind, you are in the right place. A dedicated Blue Bell criminal defense lawyer from our legal team is here to fight for you, every step of the way.
Important Gun Laws in Pennsylvania
Pennsylvania has a complex set of gun laws that are subject to frequent change. That being said, some of the most important gun laws in Pennsylvania include:
- The minimum age to purchase a long gun, such as a rifle or shotgun, is 18. The minimum age to purchase a handgun is 21.
- There is no permit required to purchase a long gun, however, there is a background check requirement for all gun purchases made from a licensed dealer.
- You will need a permit required to purchase a handgun from a licensed dealer. The permit application process includes both a federal and state background check requirement.
- It is legal to open carry a firearm in Pennsylvania without a permit, however, it is illegal to carry concealed without a permit.
- There are a number of places where it is illegal to carry a firearm, including schools, government buildings, and hospitals. If you are caught carrying a firearm in these places without proper licensing (i.e. you are a school police officer with explicit permission to carry a firearm on school grounds) you can face very serious penalties.
- One of the most common prosecutions involving guns is for providing false information on the State or Federal application. Even innocent mistakes due to misunderstanding and forgetfulness regularly result in prosecutions.
Penalties for Unlawful Gun Possession in Pennsylvania
If you’re accused of unlawful gun possession in Pennsylvania, you will likely face a wide range of penalties, depending on the nature of the offense itself. That said, some of the penalties you may face are as follows:
- Third-degree misdemeanor: Can warrant up to one year of incarceration and a potential $5,000 fine
- Second-degree misdemeanor: Can warrant up to two years of incarceration and a potential $5,000 fine
- First-degree misdemeanor: Can warrant up to five years of incarceration and a potential $10,000 fine
- Second-degree felony: Can warrant up to 10 years of incarceration and a potential $25,000 fine
- First-degree felony: Can warrant up to 20 years of incarceration and a potential $25,000 fine
Importantly, you should also note that the penalties for gun charges may vary depending on other aggravating factors as well, such as, whether the firearm was used to threaten another person, whether the firearm was discharged, whether the firearm injured or killed another person, whether you were designated a “person not to possess” a firearm due to a prior conviction, restraining order or mental health commitment and more.
Contact a Gun Crime Lawyer Today
Regardless of the gun charges you’re currently facing, it is of paramount importance that you retain the services of a competent gun crime lawyer at once. Mudrick & Zucker is here to preserve your innocence and your future. Contact us today.