Have you been charged with assault, but you were only defending yourself, were provoked, or were otherwise not the true aggressor? If so, it’s important to understand that everyone is innocent until proven guilty, and everyone deserves a legal advocate who will fight to protect their future. Fortunately, you are in the right place. Contact a Montgomery County assault lawyer from Mudrick & Zucker today so we can get started building your defense.
If you’re currently facing assault charges, you need a competent Blue Bell criminal defense lawyer in your corner who truly cares about your rights. Mudrick & Zucker has decades of experience representing individuals charged with all types of crime, and we are here to put that experience to work for you in your case.
To start, you should understand that Pennsylvania law recognizes two types of assault: simple assault and aggravated assault. Simple assault is when a person intentionally or recklessly attempts to cause bodily injury to another person, negligently injures another with a deadly weapon, or intentionally uses physical menace to place someone in fear of imminent serious bodily injury.
Aggravated assault, on the other hand, is when a person causes serious bodily injury to another person while showing extreme indifference to human life, attempts to cause bodily injury with a deadly weapon, or causes/threatens a police officer, firefighter, parole officer, another type of enforcement officer, Judges, Public Defenders, psychiatric aides, elected official or a member of the teaching community, with bodily injury.
If you’re found guilty of simple assault in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, you’ll face a wide range of penalties, depending on the degree of simple assault you’re charged with. They are as follows:
That said, if you’re found guilty of aggravated assault in Pennsylvania, you’ll face even harsher penalties. Typically, aggravated assault is charged as a first or second-degree felony. A second-degree felony conviction, for a serious bodily injury, carries up to $25,000 in fines and 10 years of imprisonment. Assault without serious bodily injury, such as against a police officer, is a second-degree felony. First-degree felony aggravated assault, on the other hand, can warrant up to 20 years of incarceration and a potential $25,000 fine.
The specific defenses available will depend largely on the circumstances surrounding your case, but some of the most commonly used defenses in assault cases are as follows:
Don’t face an assault charge on your own. Contact a dedicated assault lawyer from Mudrick & Zucker today so we can get started working on your case.