Being charged with a DUI under any circumstance can be an overwhelming experience. That said, if you or your child is currently facing underage DUI charges, you have a lot to consider. Read on and reach out to a dedicated Montgomery County DUI lawyer from Mudrick & Zucker, P.C. to learn more about these charges, the potential penalties you may face, and how our legal team can help you fight them, every step of the way. Here are some of the questions you may have:
What BAC does someone under the age of 21 need to get a DUI?
In Pennsylvania, underage individuals caught driving under the influence face serious repercussions, which intensify with each subsequent offense. For drivers under 21, even a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) as low as .02% can lead to DUI charges.
What are the penalties for an underage DUI in Pennsylvania?
If you’re accused an underage DUI, you may face a variety of penalties. That said, the penalties you may face will depend largely on whether this is your first or subsequent offense. Penalties for underage DUIs in Pennsylvania are as follows:
- First Offense: A first offense warrants a one-year suspension of the driver’s license, a fine ranging from $500 to $5,000, a jail term of 48 hours to six months, a year-long requirement to use an ignition interlock device, mandatory participation in alcohol highway safety school, and the possibility of court-ordered treatment.
- Second Offense: The penalties for a second-offense DUI in Pennsylvania include a one-year license suspension, a fine between $750 and $5,000, a jail term ranging from 30 days to six months, a year with the ignition interlock device, enrollment in alcohol highway safety school, and potential court-ordered treatment.
- Third Offense: At this stage, the driver faces an 18-month license suspension, a fine of $1,500 to $5,000, a jail term ranging from 90 days to five years, a year with the ignition interlock device, and possible court-ordered treatment.
- Fourth Offense: This results in an 18-month suspension of the driver’s license, a fixed fine of $1,500, incarceration for one to seven years, and a one-year term for using the ignition interlock device.
Should I hire a lawyer?
Yes. Hiring a competent criminal defense lawyer can make the difference between a guilty conviction and a free future. An attorney can assess the circumstances of your DUI charge, and, from there, work to craft a strong, comprehensive strategy on your behalf.
If you have further questions about underage DUI charges in Pennsylvania or need an attorney to represent you, simply contact Mudrick & Zucker, P.C. today. We are here to fight for you and your future.